Tuesday, April 08, 2008

Lagos Jumping

Quinton Scott's old Strut label is on the mend. First out of the blocks with Disco Not Disco 3, followed by Funky Nassau and now returning to mine the Naija grooves. The Nigeria 70 compilation set the standard some five or more years ago before the label went under. Now underwritten by L7 in German the new items are looking as good as ever. Here's the tracklisting for the new Nigeria 70 compilation:

1 Sir Shina Peters & His International Stars / Yabis
2 Ify Jerry Crusade / Everybody Likes Something Good
3 Bola Johnson & His Easy Life Top Beats / Ezuku Buzo
4 Ashanti Afrika Jah / Onyame
5 Olufemi Ajasa & His New Nigerian Brothers / Aiye Le
6 Peacocks Guitar Band / Eddie Quansa
7 Peter King / African Dialects
8 Dynamic Africana / Igbehin Lalayo Nta
9 Chief Checker / Ire Africa
10 Tony Tete Harbor & The Star Heaters Of Nigeria / Tete Muo Bu Muo
11 The Faces / Tug Of War
12 Eric (Showboy) Akaeze & His Royal Ericos / Wetin De Watch Goat Goat Dey Watcham
13 The Immortals / Hot Tears
14 Rex Williams / You Are My Heart
15 Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestros / Dododo
16 Eddie Okwedy / Happy Survival
Unfortunately not many more details over at the new strut site HERE

And thats not all, Honest Jons release their Nigeria Shake compilation of Tony Allen remixes with a cover shot by Peter Hugo
1 Sankofa - Allen, Tony & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble
2 Kilode Remix - Allen, Tony & Carl Craig
3 Awa Na Re Remix - Allen, Tony & Bonde Do Role
4 Mark's Disco Dub - Allen, Tony & Mark Ernestus
5 Regga Land Dub - Allen, Tony & Wareika Hill Sounds
6 Tetsuya's Theme - Allen, Tony & Newham Generals
7 Samba - Allen, Tony & Son Palenque
8 Fuji Ouija - Allen, Tony & Diplo
9 Ole - Allen, Tony & Salah Ragab
10 Ole - Allen, Tony & Moritz Von Oswlad


Anonymous said...

Why don't they just gun down my wallet in the street and leave it to die like a dog?

Super excited for all these releases, but oh it's going to sting the bank account.

Anonymous said...

Yeah, that comps sound incredible.
I'm pretty new to AfroBeat, AfroFunk and Highlife.
The precursor of "Lagos Jump" is listed with over 90 € at German Amazon. What a shame. This time I know of the album when it is released thanks to you.
Much appreciated.

zim said...

there's a nice essay from John Collins from the lagos jump liner notes and some more info here: